GMA Industry Awards nominations and entries now open

GMA Industry Awards

The GMA is pleased to announce that nominations and entries for the 2023 Industry Awards are now officially open.

The annual industry awards, which recognises excellence in grounds care across the professional, amateur, and voluntary sectors, brings together many of the UK and Europe’s leading practitioners and suppliers to pay tribute to the very best in the sector.

This November, the awards ceremony will take place at Headingly Stadium for the first time in its history.

As well as a change of venue, the GMA has reviewed the nominations process in an effort for the Industry Awards to reach a wider pool of talent. Whilst in previous years the Industry Awards have operated on a nomination-only basis, this year, individuals can now enter themselves as well as their own team, ensuring there be an opportunity for every single member of the sector to be recognised for their work.

With sixteen categories spanning the entire sector, the GMA Industry Awards provide the perfect opportunity to shine a spotlight on the year-round contribution of grounds staff towards maintaining and improving grass playing surfaces. 

The award categories are:

1. Young Groundsperson of the Year
2. Newcomer of the Year 
3. Volunteer Groundsperson/Team of the Year 
4. Community Groundsperson/Team of the Year
5. Best Managed Artificial Surface of the Year
6. Environmental & Sustainability Impact Award
7. Bowls & Croquet Groundsperson/Team of the Year
8. Professional Cricket Grounds Team of the Year
9. Professional Tennis Courts Grounds Team of the Year
10. Professional Horse Racing Grounds Team of the Year
11. Professional Rugby League Grounds Team of the Year
12. Professional Rugby Union Grounds Team of the Year 
13. Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year 
14. Professional Football Grounds Team of the Year (Elite)
15. University & College Grounds Team of the Year 
16. Independent School Grounds Team of the Year 

The GMA Industry Awards provide the perfect opportunity to celebrate excellence within your own organisation. Whether it be by way of nomination for a member of the team who deserves to have their contribution recognised or you wish to shine a spotlight on your colleagues or peers or celebrate achievements, our updated application process now enables more people and teams across the industry the opportunity to be celebrated for their achievements.
We always look forward to the awards ceremony to reconnect with friends, sponsors, and colleagues from across the industry, but above all else to celebrate the hard work of grounds staff across the seasons.The team at GMA are greatly looking forward to seeing the quality of nominees this year and to welcome the finalists in person at Headingly Leeds this November.

Geoff Webb, CEO of Grounds Management Association 

You can nominate and enter the Awards on the GMA Industry Awards website.  

Award nominations close on Monday 7 August 2023 and entries close on Monday 14 August 2023.

To discuss sponsorship and other brand partnership opportunities, email Sales Manager Jill Rodham at